Modern Image of a Teenage Girl

These days it is all about being perfect. Perfect hair, face, makeup, skin, clothes, shoes, nails, etc. I am actually pretty sick of “perfect.”

All you see on social media is pictures of skinny, “perfect” models with collarbones, thigh gaps, and rib & hip bones poking through their clothes. Sorry to say, but most of America isn’t shaped like that. What those girls are wearing in the ads is going to look completely different on a girl like me. It is called curves people. Most girls have them; those “perfect” models don’t. I wish the modeling world saw it differently. Why can’t the image of the “perfect body” evolve with how we are evolving? I believe that those model agencies that are making their models turn anorexic and bulimic just to look “good” on camera is cruel. No one should have to throw up every meal or starve themselves for a photo-shoot. That is what I can insanity. I support people working out and eating healthy and clean for a photo-shoot, but not so much they work themselves to death or starve themselves of wonderful food. People we have some fantastic food in this world, eat it! Now, I am not saying that America  is getting fatter or that everyone is obese now so we have to change everything so people who are overweight don’t feel bad. No, if you are overweight there are other things you can do then become anorexic and bulimic. Also you don’t have to be a size zero to be healthy. I actually think that’s unhealthy in most cases. I believe people should be at a “comfortable” weight. Yes, that requires watching some of what you eat and some weekly exercise. But how hard is it to avoid that big mac every night and to go for a walk everyday. I hate running. You don’t have to run. Walking is just as good as running if you do it right (intervals). So let’s make America an healthy country. Not necessarily a skinny one.

Oh the spray tans, tanning beds, hair dyes, fake nails, name brands, tons of makeup, and perfect outfits. I’m done. I wear t-shirts, jeans, toms, a ponytail or just my hair naturally down, some foundation, maybe some eye shadow, mascara, and I am done. That’s it. Yes, I do dye my hair but it looks natural. I am a natural brunette and I just dyed it a darker brown. (I did go red once but it was barely noticeable.) I don’t go from brown to blond, back to brown, then back to blonde. No. Also that oh-so-fake-looking spray tan. I understand it if you are getting like senior pictures, or a wedding, or some special event. Then a spray tan is great. However, if you get one, for no reason, in the dead of winter, and it is orange……no. Don’t. Guys don’t like it, I promise. Don’t even get me started on tanning beds. Yes, I am a little biased because my mother, grandmother, and grandfather have skin cancer. However, I just do not see the point in it. I hate tanning beds. I will never, ever go in one. I strongly devise my friends from using them. They do nothing but harm your skin! Anyway, nails is a different story. I can barely stand my real ones being long, I can’t imagine having fake long nails, but that’s just me. Yes, I have some name brand clothes and shoes. But that is mostly because they are readily available and I get a good deal. Toms, are amazing. I think they are so comfortable. Yes, they are expensive, but I only buy them on sale. Finally, the cake face. I am sorry but there is nothing attractive about having a line on your neck that separates your normal skin color to the fake one you have applied to your face. I understand if you are doing a show, or a play, or prom to have more makeup. But for school? No. I don’t have time for that. If some of the girls in my school spent as much time doing their homework and studying as they do their makeup, we would have a lot more straight A students. Keep it simple, guys aren’t going to want to date you if you look like a completely different person once you take your makeup off. Sorry not sorry.

I don’t want to be the perfect modern teenage girl.

That is just my take on how girls are these days. Leave your opinion in the comments. I want to see if I am not alone or if I am a complete loner in this topic 😛

P.S. Thanks for putting up with my venting. 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mikimayla
    Dec 12, 2013 @ 07:07:14

    You are TOTALLY right! I have some friends who are super paranoid thinking that they are super fat! (which is SO-OOO not true) It is sad how our world is changing 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

