Controversial Topic: Promise Rings

Well I hope everyone had a great holiday & break so far! One thing I noticed on instagram, twitter, etc. is promise rings. Are they useless? Are they a good gift for your girl? What do they actually mean? I’ll give you my opinion and I’d love if you would please give me some feedback in the comments.

Promise rings. They are rings that usually the boyfriend in a relationship gives his girl after a period of time of dating. They are suppose to mean that I promise that one day I will marry you. It is like a pre-engagement ring. I believe that as long as you keep that idea in mind that promise rings are perfect! They would make great valentines, Christmas, and birthday presents. Of course, you have to be serious about it though. It can’t just be something you throw out there. It means a lot to a girl. It is actually a pretty big step. You know that their are only two outcomes in a relationship. Either you break up, or you get married. So giving a girl a promise ring is promising her that you will never split up. That you’ll spend the rest of your life together.

Now here is where people get a little flustered. Many people these days don’t know the difference between a true loving relationship and a “fling”. So, they take things too seriously and way too fast. I understand where people are coming from when they say you should be together for quite some time before you receive a promise ring. I have seen on Facebook where girls are getting rings after like a month. And you know what happens? The next month she is in a relationship with a completely different guy. So my advice? Wait, until you know for sure that you want to stay with that person and that you will fight to stay with that person no matter what. It is going to take some time. But (this might sound corny, sorry) you can’t rush into love. Yes, I believe in love at first sight. However, that doesn’t happen to a lot of people.

So are they just useless? I don’t believe so. If you truly mean it and give it to the one person you love, then they are perfect! Most people just don’t like them because they get thrown around nowadays. Also if you are thinking about getting a promise ring or are looking at promise rings, make sure to keep it simple. It is not an engagement ring. Maybe one diamond. But that is it! You don’t want your man spending all of his money! Really simple infinity rings, or garnet rings are my favorites. (Yes I have looked at some, don’t judge) A simple beautiful ring on your hand is just a symbol of a couples love. Don’t go overboard!

So…….keep it simple, don’t go overboard, truly mean it, take your time, don’t rush, think about it, talk about it with your girlfriend/boyfriend, maybe it isn’t for you maybe it is. Who knows. I hope you guys learned something today!

Let me know what you think in the comments 🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. mikimayla
    Jan 04, 2014 @ 08:23:43

    This is SO true! Finally, someone who thinks the way I do!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

