Most difficult Thing About Being A Teen

So this was our journal entry for psychology today…..we were studying developmental psychology and in class we were explaining what the most difficult thing about being a teenager is. This is what I came up with…

 

The most difficult thing about being a teenager is the pressure to be perfect. What I mean by that is all of the peer pressure and stress that people put on others to be great at everything. A big thing for me is weight. I am probably an eating disorder waiting to happen. I feel fat 24/7. I cry about it sometimes especially at like formal events like military ball where I see so many people who look so much better than me. I hate the way that I look. I feel like I have always struggled with my weight. I try diets and working out but it is hard to do that when almost all of your family is obese or very close to it. I struggle with self-confidence so much. It is scary. I am a perfectionist at heart. I am very hard on myself about everything. I am a dancer, I love to dance, but when I can’t do a step or I can’t do something as good as someone else I just want to break down and cry. I try my best to be an A student all the time, so when I get a B the world is crumbling down. I always try to be perfect because that is what everyone wants. Peer pressure to be tan, well my mother, grandmother, and grandfather all have skin cancer, I don’t want that. Peer pressure to be skinny, I have tried and tried to the point of only having one meal a day, it doesn’t work. It is like I can not be physically skinny. Peer pressure to be the smartest, I can’t always make an A but I try so hard to. I am at the point where I only get like 3 hours of sleep because I am up doing homework and studying. Peer pressure to be popular and get into a relationship, I am kind of introverted, my dad is. I don’t like talking in front of a whole bunch of people. I just keep to kind of a small diverse group of friends. I am in a relationship for almost 7 months. However, now that I am in one my friends are saying I need a new one like every couple months. I don’t agree with that I want to stay with my boyfriend. All of these peer pressures I go through everyday. But sometimes it feels like it is too tough sometimes. Whenever I feel that way I just think of something that I want to see in my future. A lot of the time I think about my wedding or having kids. Sometimes I just think about seeing my boyfriend or my mom the next day. I struggle with that a lot. School gives me so much stress it is ridiculous. I really don’t know, sometimes it is just that I feel stuck. Peer pressure about being perfect is the most difficult thing about being a teenager.

Do you feel the same way?

P.S. Thanks for putting up with my venting! 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Em
    Feb 07, 2014 @ 04:06:47

    I went through the same thing when I was in grade ten and it made me really hate myself and my life. Then one day, something just changed inside and I decided to stop caring about everyone else and just do things for myself. If I wanted ate healthy, it was now because I wanted to, for ME. If I got good grades, it was because I wanted to. If I went into or out of a relationship, it was MY decision. From that moment, I became much happier. I noticed that the more I respected my own decisions, the more others respected them too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

